Daily Archives: December 2, 2008

Thank you

Here are a few of my talented friends that have helped me along the way. Thank you so much for all of your support. Your talent and time is appreciated behind measure. I could not have done this without you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Talented Friends

Topper

51awj5j94xl_sl500_aa240_ The song on my website is dedicated to my dear friend, the late Topper Price. One day I asked Top if I could use “Someday” for my website. He said “Of course, but why this song?” I told him, “well it’s about falling in love and starting a new life together.” He replied, ” I never thought of that song that way.” So here’s to Top. Some day we will meet again.

Top performed all over the Southeast over the past 30 years and played with some of the music greats in blues and Southern Rock, including Dickie Betts of the Allman Brothers Band, Scott Boyer and Cowboy, The Convertables, The Band and The Radiators, along with Albert Collins, Johnny Shines, Wayne Perkins and Brother Cane.

“Topper gave a lot of joy to people in this town,” Walters said. “There was something magnetic about him. He was the top harmonica player in the state, with a unique and powerful style. When you’re talking about blues in Birmingham, you’re talking about Topper Price.” Mr. Price wasn’t a music teacher, but he did have an influence on other musicians, including soul singer, harmonica player and “American Idol” finalist Taylor Hicks, according to the News.

Hicks said he would sneak into nightclubs as a teenager to hear Mr. Price perform, and was influenced by his showmanship. Mr. Price would drop to his knees during solos and moved on stage with flamboyant passion.

“He was not only a harmonica player, he was an entertainer,” Hicks said. “He taught me the difference. I remember when he was playing at The Mill; there was a banister on stage and he used to wrap his leg around it. That really struck me. He was one of the finest harmonica players that I’ve heard. He had a great voice. He was the real deal – a bluesman.”

Leave a comment

Filed under A Blues Man